Police Respond to Medical calls.

Jim Carrey

So This has been a thing that has been on my mind ever since its been taken away. As many of you know I'm a police officer outside of the city and we respond to all medical calls. Why did we take this out of the city??? If EMS gets a medical call we should have to respond and make sure the area is clear before EMS arrives or goes into the scene. I noticed that EMS is not always on duty, and this effect's the RP experience. With this, I think when EMS is off duty police should respond to all 911 medical calls and transport the individuals to the hospital. Then RP it out and when them come back to the hospital for a check up. Again if EMS is on duty then police still respond to clear the scene before EMS rolls in. 

• Like 2

Police already move patients to safer locations sometimes, I don't see why some basic stabilization shouldn't be possible as well to maybe stop bleeding, etc...

I do like having no EMS on duty sometimes. It changes the way some people act and makes them more careful or makes them group together during outings for safety.

• Like 3

I think the tricky part about notifying police of all 911 injury calls is it affects the neutrality of EMS. If people are doing illegal activities, have illegal items on them, or have warrants and the like, they're going to think twice about pressing that life-alert if it means a cop will show up. This means more people getting moved by their friends, which means less RP for EMS.