Populated Zone Rule

I'm actually here at the recommendation of one of the Admins.

I'm a regular mechanic at 2/6 and we got in some trouble for responding to multiple hostile initiations with gunfire (within the rights listed under RDM). I'm not complaining, the explanation given makes perfect sense. We shouldn't have been responding with hostile intent of our own in accordance with the Populated Zone Rule. The confusing part was that said rule is only listed under Gang Violence.

Now, I suppose a group of pissed-off mechanics shooting back at someone could technically qualify as a gang, but that aside, I feel that this confusion would be easily resolved for future potential offenders by copy/pasting the "...is not allowed in player-populated areas of the greater Los Santos area (Legion Square, legal job areas, the yacht, etc.)" stipulation to also be included under RDM, if this is how the staff feels about shooting in populated areas altogether.

Maybe it's this way for a reason, but I feel like as it currently stands, criminal action in areas like 2/6 is practically unavoidable. Even the instances that are properly RP'ed (rare as they may be) are at risk of a ban for a rule that isn't really there.

Thanks for reading. Yee yee partners.

• Confused 1

The only rule with violence at player populated areas is for gangs to limit gang violence as it was out of control at one point. I myself am not in favor on putting hard restrictions or safe zones in the city it would open up meta and people stirring shit only to hide from their actions in said safe zones. This reason along with many others would in the end in my honest opinion would hinder roleplay and move the server backwards from its medium roleplay direction and the small steps its taking from not putting training wheels on everything to counter the shitlords which is typically what light roleplay servers have to do.